As an administrator, you can restrict file types from being synchronized to the server using policy settings. Excluded extensions are allowed to be placed within the desktop client's Synced Folder; however, they will not be synced, and they will not appear in the web portal or in mobile apps. If an excluded extension is uploaded through the web portal, the end user will receive a notification that the file is on the exclusion list.
The Excluded Extensions policy lists default excluded extensions that can optionally be modified to accommodate the needs of an organization. Using this policy, you can help protect organizations and user accounts from files that might contain malicious code.
Other file types, such as temporary and system files and folders, are permanently blocked from the system (hard-coded). For more information on hard-coded excluded files and folders, please reference the Excluded Folders and Extensions Knowledge Base article.
Configuring Excluded Extensions Through Policy Settings
The Excluded Extensions policy is populated with default excluded extensions; however, these can be modified according to the needs and preferences of an organization. A suborganization does not inherit excluded extensions from its parent organization.
To configure excluded extensions:
- Within the appropriate organization, click the Settings tab. The Settings page displays.
- In the Settings page, click the Policies button. The Policies page displays.
- In the Policies page, scroll down until you find the Excluded Extensions field.
The Excluded Extensions field includes a list of default excluded extensions, which you can edit according to the needs of an organization.
- You can remove an excluded extension, or you can add an excluded extension. When you add a file to the Excluded Extensions field, you must add it in the following format, separated from the others by a comma:
- Click the Save button to save your changes.
Note: Files synchronized before an exclusion is put in place are not deleted retroactively from the Anchor Server. For example, if you were previously syncing .bat files, and then later added .bat as an excluded extension, the desktop client will no longer sync .bat files moving forward; however, any existing .bat files on the Anchor Server will remain.
For more information on configuring organization policies, please reference the How to Create and Configure Organizations and Policies Knowledge Base article.