If a desktop client is installed on a Windows profile, and the Windows profile is later deleted, the desktop client will automatically unregister itself. This unregistration process will not affect files, folders, or Team Shares stored in the cloud.
As a best practice, we recommend unregistering an desktop client before removing a Windows profile.
For instructions on how to unregister the desktop client from the local machine, please reference the Installing and Configuring the Desktop Client Knowledgebase article.
For instructions how to unregister the desktop client from the administrative web portal, please reference the Remotely Wipe Machines and Accounts Knowledgebase article.
Expected Behavior: Deleting a Windows Profile
While we recommend unregistering a desktop client according to the best practices listed above, the following behavior can be expected if you delete a Windows profile without first unregistering the desktop client.
1. On a local machine, an administrator removes a Windows profile through the User Accounts section of the Control Panel.
2. The profile is deleted, triggering the desktop client to unregister.
3. After the desktop client unregisters, Synced Folder content—including personal files and folders and Team Shares—is deleted from the local machine.
4. These personal files, folders, and Team Shares will still exist in the cloud. The user account will still be able to log into the web portal and access content as needed.