In addition to collaborating and sharing content with internal users, end users can also collaborate with outside third parties. These outside users are called guests. Guest accounts are intended for users who are not members of an organization. These guest users have limited access to the system, allowing for the sharing of files or folders, or for collaboration on specific content.
Guest accounts can:
- Access a shared file or folder through the web portal
- If given permission, upload and delete content in securely shared folders
- Manage their account information and change their password
Guest accounts cannot:
- Utilize the desktop client, WebDAV, or mobile apps
- Subscribe to Team Shares
Creating Guest Accounts
When an end user sends a secure share to a person outside of their organization, the system automatically creates a guest account, giving that guest access to the file or folder that was shared. End users and administrators can also manually create a guest account from the Guests tab of the web portal.
For information on how administrators can manage guest users, please reference the Creating and Managing Guest Accounts in the Administrative Web Portal Knowledgebase article.
If you will be collaborating with a guest account on a regular basis, you might consider sharing an entire folder with the guest account. When you create a secure share to a folder, you can invite a guest account and decide whether or not to give that guest account permission to upload or delete content from that shared folder. You can also choose to be notified when the guest user uploads or downloads content. In this way, the shared folder becomes a collaborative space where you can exchange and review content.
Sharing a File or Folder with a Guest Account
In the example below, a folder will be shared to allow a guest account to upload content into the system. Alternatively, you can also send share links to individual files.
In the desktop client, right-click the folder or file you want to share, point to the sync menu, and select Share link.
- Alternatively, in the web portal, right-click the file you want to share, and select Share.
- In the Share Access dialog box, configure share options, including:
- The Secure Share option, which requires each user to log in with unique credentials before accessing the shared content. By choosing Secure Share, the system will automatically create a guest account for the recipient.
- The Public Share option, which sends standard share links to items. If you select this option, you can also select the Allow anonymous users to edit files checkbox to let anyone who launches the share link to edit the file using the Collaborative Web Editor
- The Share Options settings, which allow you to select whether the share link will expire after a certain date, if each recipient should be limited to the number of times the item can be downloaded, and if you would like to be notified through email when the share is downloaded. If you are sharing an entire folder, you can also select to receive a notification when an item is uploaded to the shared folder.
- The Share With settings, which allow you to email your guest directly from within the Share Access dialog box.
- The Permissions settings, which let you set Can Modify permissions, allowing the specified user to edit the file using the Collaborative Web Editor. If you are sharing an entire folder, Can Modify also allows users to upload files into the folder. Additionally, you will be able to set Can Delete permissions, allowing the user to delete files within the shared folder.
The recipient will receive an email notification. After logging in, he or she will be able to see the contents of the share. Guest users can also manage their own user settings—including their name, email address, and password— and can even delete their own account.
Managing Guest Accounts as an End User
To manually create a guest account as an end user in the web portal:
- Click the My Files button in the black menu bar. The My Files page displays.
- In the My Files page, click the Guests tab. The Guest Accounts page displays, showing a list of guest accounts that you have created.
- To create a guest, click the Create Guest button.
The Create Guest page displays, allowing you to configure settings for the new guest.
- In the Guest Settings page, you can configure the guest’s first name, last name, email address, and password.
- Use the Password Expires field if you would like to generate a time-sensitive password for the new guest user. You can select from 6 hours, 12 hours, or 24 hours. If you do not want to generate a time-sensitive password, leave this drop-down field set to Never.
- By default, the Send Welcome Email checkbox is selected, which will send a welcome email to the new guest, containing information about how to access the system. Uncheck this checkbox if you do not wish to send a welcome email.
- Click the Save button when you are finished.
Last Updated: May 2015